Thursday, 6 July 2017

The Maori name for New Zealand is Aotearoa!

New Zealand is located in the Southwestern Pacific Ocean and the Maori name for New Zealand is Aotearoa.  The capital city of New Zealand is Wellington.

The two main islands are the North Island and the South Island. There are also smaller islands such as Stewart Island, Waiheke Island and Chatham Island.

Image result for New ZealandThe population of New Zealand is 4.5 million.

The most popular sport is Rugby. Kiwis also play other sports such as football, golf, cricket and netball.

Major cities in New Zealand includes Christchurch, Hamilton, Queenstown,  Dunedin and Auckland. Auckland is the most populated city.

People mostly speak English and Te Reo Maori.
The Treaty of Waitangi was signed in 1840 between the British and the Maori as a peace treaty.
The Indigenous people are the Maori people.

In 1893, New Zealand became the first country in the world to give all women the right to vote.

New Zealand is a peaceful and relaxing place to live and there are more and more people living in New Zealand.   

Learning Intention: We are learning to write a report.
Success Criteria: I know I can do this when I use a detailed brainstorm to write a report about New Zealand. 

No comments:

Post a comment